Restoring a Stromberg Carlson cabinet

Have a questions on finishing, refinishing, or restoring <br />wood furniture or cabinetry? This is the place to ask!

Moderators: AsonnyA, Bob Boardman

Janc
Newcomer
Newcomer

Restoring a Stromberg Carlson cabinet

Postby Janc » Mon Sep 21, 2015 7:14 pm

I am very new to restoring furniture. I got this cabinet from a relative and wanted to fix up the top. I used Formbys furniture refinisher but it also removed the stain does anyone know what stain I need to use. It is a cabinet that held an amfm radio and turntable. Thanks for any help.

Bob Boardman
Refinish/Repair Wiz
Refinish/Repair Wiz

Re: Restoring a Stromberg Carlson cabinet

Postby Bob Boardman » Tue Sep 22, 2015 3:41 pm

We can't tell without a picture
Bob "Boardman" Borders

Janc
Newcomer
Newcomer

Postby Janc » Wed Sep 23, 2015 8:02 am

This is a picture of the same model from online. I am having trouble getting my photo's resolution low enough. Thanks for any help.

Janc
Newcomer
Newcomer

Postby Janc » Wed Sep 23, 2015 8:15 am

Here is the side of the cabinet. Thanks

Janc
Newcomer
Newcomer

Postby Janc » Wed Sep 23, 2015 11:27 am

It appears that I am not able to attach a picture.

AsonnyA
Refinish/Repair Wiz
Refinish/Repair Wiz

Postby AsonnyA » Wed Sep 23, 2015 12:30 pm

Select one or two, picture reference, and give us the link.

https://www.google.com/search?q=strombe ... 80&bih=841

Sonny

Janc
Newcomer
Newcomer

Postby Janc » Sun Sep 27, 2015 9:00 pm

Here is the link (I hope) to the picture.

https://www.google.com/search?q=strombe ... xVExpIM%3A

It's the cabinet with a radio in the upper right cabinet and a speaker below. The drawer and cabinet on the left are closed. I really do appreciate any help. only the top needs refinishing.

admin
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby admin » Mon Sep 28, 2015 12:45 pm

IMG_20150923_054829135.jpg
IMG_20150923_054829135.jpg (429.23 KiB) Viewed 7122 times

IMG_20150923_055043.jpg